Question details

How do you see the Deming Prize criteria fitting into TQM
$ 15.00

Page:of 5



                                             Automatic Zoom                                             Actual Size                                             Page Fit                                             Page Width                                                                                          50%                                             75%                                             100%                                             125%                                             150%                                             200%                                             300%                                             400%                                         



Quality Awards and Standards (graded)

The authors of our text talk about the Baldrige Award throughout their book. In

previous versions, they even designed their text around this award. Given that our

course is about TQM, an in-depth discussion of the Deming Award would seem to be

appropriate. Why do I say this? If you look at the textbook, you see that the authors

state that "the Deming Prize establishes a framework for a CWQC [Company Wide

Quality Control] system" (p. 122). CWQC embodies what we would call TQM here in

the U.S.

So let's do some research. Put on your investigative hats and see what you can find

about the Deming Award. You can use the Internet or or any other sources you have


How do you see the Deming Prize criteria fitting into TQM? How does the Deming

Prize compare to the Baldrige Award? What are the differences and similarities

between the Deming Prize and the Baldrige Award?

Deming Prize criteria is a good start as a guide on TQM in any industry to help create their

own customized criteria. Deming Prize is more general in my opinion and focuses on the

general process compare to Baldridge Award. Public or not-for-profit organizations are not

qualified in Baldridge Award. Also, there is no category in which all applicants that satisfy a

given level of performance receive a quality prize.

According to ASQ, the "guru approach" uses the teachings and writings of one or more of

the leading quality thinkers and thus managers might study up on Deming's 14 points.

The main comparison: Deming's Prize is Japan's national quality award in industry and the

Baldrige Award is aa quality awareness award that is for private industry only.

Both awards have seven critieria in commonality: Leadership, strategic planning, customer

and market focus, information and analysis, human resource focus, process management,

and business results. With these seven similarities there are differences in the approach of

TQM as each award has their own seperate critieria as well.

Retrieved by


Guru Approach is a good approach for any beginners. Deming's Prize and Baldrige Award

are the two "guru" that can lead any company to its success if used properly. Everyone has

to understand this is just a guide that will only show the way but to walk in it and to learn the

other details is an experience they will not learn from others but from their own. Deming

prize is Japan's national quality award and involves the statistical quality control

methodology for the organizations. This award is considered the highest prize in the word for

total quality management. It provides organizations the impetus to drive their quality control





Deming approach for awarding companies and people is a more direct and specific method.

I look back during the time frame that Deming first implemented the TQM in the work place.

companies were not using quality to define their product or personal. in order to obtain

quality within a organization you must start with your people and the way they think and act

when that happens you then will see a change in you company. I think his awards are more

geared towards improving the quality of people which in turn would improve the quality of the

company. After reading about Baldrige award which was implemented years later focus on

manufacturing,services,and small firms to me they both serve their purpose.

1. The Deming Prize was established in 1951 and the Baldridge Award in 1987.

2. The Deming Prize has three categories: Individual Person, Deming Application Prizes

and factory Quality Control Prize. The Baldridge Award categories are: Manufacturing

firms, service firms and small firms (no service firm has won a Baldridge award).

3. There are 143 companies that have won the Deming Prize; whereas, only five companies

have been awarded a Baldridge.

4. The Deming Prize is a national competition to applaud and endorse companies who are

making great strides in quality. The Baldridge Award is to acknowledge the promotion of

quality awareness, help to understand quality requirements and share successful quality


I feel that Deming 14 points serve as a logical management tool it helps to build what the

organization needs to ensure that the employees build a good product and customers return

for more product.

As I read your insert they both focus on customer satisfaction, Quality assurance and

building a great relationship with both the staff and consumer. Demings requirements seem

to be a little more of a business expectation, not saying Baldridge isn't Demings just step

outside the box.

Deming Prize:

The Deming Prize for Individuals-Given to those who have made outstanding contributions

to the study of TQM or statistical methods used for TQM, or those who have made

outstanding contributions to the dissemination of TQM.

The Deming Application Prize: This award is given to organizations or divisions of

organizations that have achieved distinctive performance improvement through the

application of TQM in a designated year.

The Quality Control Award for Operations Business Units: Given to operations business

units of an organization that have achieved distinctive performance improvement through the

application of quality control/management in the pursuit of TQM in a designated year

according to JUSE.


Available solutions